Support for V-Planner Live on the X1
2. Install procedure onto X1
3. Updates and new versions
3. Windows 64 bit
4. X1 attachment driver files
5. Lost keys and passwords
6. Missing registration email / no email received
7. Dual programs, Live and GF together?
8. Email support / contact us
Visit our online Forums for more help.
Activation Your X1 was delivered with a demo sample program installed. It will not dive and it requires activation to proceed. Please see "Install procedure onto X1" to activate your X1.
Install procedure onto X1
The Install of V-Planner Live is done by the user at home, using the PC, a USB port and the cable and X1 attachment supplied with X1. It takes just a few minutes to perform.
1/ Connect the attachment to the X1, plug on the wall charger, connect the USB cable to the PC.
Updates and new versions The update procedure is the same as a regular install. See "Install procedure onto X1" above. Your existing keys and registration configurations and divelogs will all survive the update. All updates are free of charge.
Windows 64 bit For 64 bit OS - read this page
X1 driver files The driver files for the X1 attachment are included with the various programs that need them. These will be installed as needed. You can also download them from: PC drivers zip file, Mac drivers dmg file
Lost keys and passwords Request your details again here Resend my keys / lost keys and passwords. Read the next topic on email problems. When installing the update, your PC will normally recall your X1 s/n and key information.
Missing registration email / no email received
The keys are made within 5 minutes by a web server, and sent out automatically. You may request the keys to be re-sent again at Resend my keys / lost keys and passwords The mail is sent with the From: address of
If you do not receive the email, then you have an email filter that has trapped or deleted this email. Or your ISP or mail provider has blackholed your mail or is refusing to accept mail. Check your filtered email or Bulk or Junk folder for this. This includes any security software on your computer eg. "Norton Internet security" (this program will hide or delete your mail!).
Hotmail, MSN and Yahoo - see comments below.
Reconfigure your email filters by adding address to your white list, safe list, address book or other approved senders for online mail, reduce the filter level, or turn off your spam filters temporarily. Request a fresh set of details from the Lost key link above. Also try using the "plain text" option when requesting a fresh email, as this simple text format may just get past the existing email filter system.
Many ISP's and corporate networks use filter systems to trap email. These systems are normally installed and run by the mail system admin, and completely hidden from ordinary user. The purpose is to strip out the bulk of spam (75%) and protect the mail server from excess activity. These are in addition to any spam system the user has installed. If the ISP system is a cheap, over zealous, simple or free system, then it will also trap good email along with the bad. Simple systems confuse the good and bad email (false positives), and delete real email along with the junk. Some ISP's will let you inspect the quarantined mail, but many will simply delete this mail without your knowledge. The free mail services may delete it regardless of your settings.
Many free mail services (Hotmail, etc.), have become "one way" mail services. They will accept replies to your original outgoing mail, but refuse to accept fresh incoming mail from unknown people. A new senders mail to you is deleted on sight (blackholed), without warning or notification to you or the sender - the mail service just deletes it - end of story. All this occurs because the free mail service is trying to dodge spam, but they also throw out your genuine mail in the process. Getting your registration details can be difficult in these situations.
Grey-listing (Yahoo, etc.) is a growing trend amongst ISP's. When new mail is being sent to you, your ISP deliberately refuses and rejects every piece of mail sent to you. That's right - everything is bounced back. Your ISP's mail system issues a "soft bounce" error 421, 450 or 451 - Please try again later system command. The mail was there ready for you, but your ISP refused to accept it. So what happens next? Your ISP's mail system has actually captured and tracked the sending IP or Message-Id of this delivery attempt it just refused. Later, when the senders MTA (hopefully) does try to resend that piece of mail again, the IP or message number is matched from attempts before, and the message is then received normally. Why?? The basic idea here is that real mail sending systems will queue the message and try to delever it again later, but spammers on hijacked computers will abandon the delivery attempt, and move on to spam someone else.
If your ISP does this grey listing, then all your mail will be arrive delayed to you (15 mins to a day late), and possibly never arrive. This practice is rather naive and not that effective at reducing spam. It clogs up mail delivery systems even further, and reduces the efficiency of email with no benefit to anyone.
Mail forwarding from one ISP / mail provider to another is a bad idea and should be avoided. The chance of a non-delivery or failures are greatly increased. As mail passes from one MTA to another, the messages properties of sender domain, IP's, SPF records, Rev DNS checks will no longer align correctly due to the forwarding process. You will lose a lot of mail to the forwarding process, because forwarded mail can now look to be poorly created, faked or spoofed, and the various MTA's will reject and black hole the mail.
If you are not able to solve your email problems, perhaps a free Google mail (gmail) account, or Yahoo mail may be a better solution (mail.google.com) (mail.yahoo.com). Contact me to swap your address over.
Dual programs, Live and GF together? The X1 can run only one firmware program at a time. You can install many different program firmwares onto the X1, and each install will just replace the last one. You will loose the dive logs and user settings everytime though.